Amitabh Bachchan, Sachin Tendulkar To Sign Daan Utsav Pledge This Year

Ten celebrities from all walks of life will come together to celebrate the tenth edition of the Daan Utsav, India’s annual week of giving from Oct. 2-8.

Actors Amitabh Bachchan and Alia Bhatt, former cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, Olympic medallist Mary Kom and Wipro’s chief Azim Premji will sign a common pledge, according to a media statement. Joining them will be singer Lata Mangeshkar, Narayana Health’s Dr Devi Shetty, billionaire businesswoman Anu Aga, India’s first woman sarpanch Chhavi Rajawat, and noted jurist Justice Srikrishna.

People pledge to offer time, skills and money for social good during the Daan Utsav. The 2017 edition saw more than 6 million people from over 200 towns, cities and villages across the country celebrating the festival.

Events are planned not only in the metros of Mumbai, Chennai, Bengaluru, New Delhi and Kolkata, but small towns like Tilonia, Rajasthan, and Assagao, Goa, in the west, parts of Tripura in the east, Nainital in the north and in the porta-cabin schools of several naxal-affected districts of Chhattisgarh.