Congress Parliamentary Party Chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Congress President Rahul Gandhi talk as former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh looks on, during the 84th Plenary Session of Indian National Congress in New Delhi on March 17, 2018. (Photograph: Manvender Vashist/PTI)   

Elections 2019: Congress Working Committee Meets To Review Lok Sabha Debacle

Top Congress leaders from across the country got together on Saturday to review the party's drubbing in the Lok Sabha polls, as the Congress Working Committee meeting got underway in New Delhi.

The CWC meeting, chaired by Congress President Rahul Gandhi, is being attended by UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, former prime minister Manmohan Singh, Uttar Pradesh (East) in-charge Priyanka Gandhi Vadra and chief ministers of three party-ruled states -- Punjab, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh -- and of the Union Territory Puducherry.

The meeting of the party's highest decision-making body will go into the reasons behind the party's debacle and discuss as to why its poll narrative failed to convince the people.

There were speculations that the Congress president might offer his resignation taking moral responsibility for the party's poor performance in the polls. However, a party source said that reports about Gandhi offering to resign "is wrong".

Senior leader P Chidambaram was also present in the meeting alongside other party colleagues including AK Antony, Ahmed Patel, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Sheila Dikshit, Mallikarjun Kharge, Ambika Soni, Anand Sharma, and Jyotiraditya Scindia.

Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh and Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot also attended the meeting along with their Chhattisgarh counterpart Bhupesh Baghel.

Though the Congress improved on its 2014 tally of 44, it could win just 52 Lok Sabha seats this year. In 18 states and Union Territories, the party could not open its account.

Murmurs are already appearing within the party over taking responsibility for its poor performance, with some of its leaders already sending in their resignations.

Uttar Pradesh Congress chief Raj Babbar and Odisha Congress president Niranjan Patnaik have announced their resignations from the post.

Bloomberg Quint

Add BloombergQuint App to Home screen.