BS Yediyurappa Sworn In As Karnataka Chief Minister
Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala administers the oath of office to B S Yeddyurappa as Karnataka Chief Minister during the swearing in ceremony at Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru. (Source: PTI)

BS Yediyurappa Sworn In As Karnataka Chief Minister


Karnataka Bharatiya Janata Party president BS Yediyurappa was sworn in as Chief Minister of the state for the fourth time on Friday.

Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 76-year old at a ceremony at the Raj Bhavan. Yediyurappa alone was sworn-in.

Yediyurappa-led BJP ministry is assuming office three days after the collapse of the Congress-JD(S) government with the defeat of the motion of confidence moved by chief minister HD Kumaraswamy in the assembly by 99 to 105 votes.

Also read: New Karnataka Chief Minister Yeddyurappa Goes Back To Being Yediyurappa

In a sudden development on Friday morning, Yediyurappa met the Governor to stake the claim and requested him to administer the oath of office and secrecy Friday itself, following which Vala invited him to form the government.

Before the swearing in, Yediyurappa said he would decide on members to be inducted into the ministry after consulting party president Amit Shah. This is the fourth stint for Yediyurappa as the Chief Minister—the last one was after the May 2018 Assembly polls, when he barely lasted three days after being sworn in.

BQ Install

Bloomberg Quint

Add BloombergQuint App to Home screen.