U.K. Adds Portugal and Hungary to Coronavirus Quarantine List


Boris Johnson’s government imposed quarantine restrictions on travelers arriving in England from mainland Portugal as it tries to limit the number of coronavirus cases imported from overseas.

People arriving from Portugal -- except the islands of the Azores and Madeira -- as well as Hungary, French Polynesia and Reunion will have to self-isolate for 14 days as of 4 a.m. on Saturday, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said in a tweet.

“Through enhanced data we now have the capability to assess islands separate to their mainland countries,” Shapps said.

Sweden will be removed from the list of countries triggering quarantine requirements, he said. The latest decision follows the move to impose restrictions on seven Greek islands earlier this week.

©2020 Bloomberg L.P.

BQ Install

Bloomberg Quint

Add BloombergQuint App to Home screen.