Pelosi Says Ocasio-Cortez Won’t Serve on New Climate Panel

(Bloomberg) -- House Speaker Nancy Pelosi announces membership of House Select Cmte on the Climate Crisis chaired by Rep. Kathy Castor of Florida, and the roster doesn’t include Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez.

  • Panel members include: Ben Ray Lujan, Suzanne Bonamici, Julia Brownley, Sean Casten, Jared Huffman, Mike Levin, Donald McEachin and Joe Neguse
  • Pelosi tells reporters Ocasio-Cortez was invited to be on the panel
    • “She is on some other committees where she will be” weighing in on climate issues, Pelosi says
  • NOTE: Pelosi’s announcement comes after progressive Democrat Ocasio-Cortez of New York releases a package of environmental measures along with Sen. Ed Markey of Massachusetts
  • Related: Ocasio-Cortez Unveils Green New Deal to Reset Climate Policy

(Adds Pelosi comment in second bullet.)

©2019 Bloomberg L.P.