May Leadership: 28 Letters Known; 48 Needed for a Challenge

(Bloomberg) -- At least 2 Conservative MPs have publicly said they’ve submitted letters of no confidence in U.K. PM Theresa May since the govt pulled the vote on the Brexit deal on Monday.

That brings the tally of known letters to 28, up from 22 in Nov. when it was last speculated that rebel Tories had reached the threshold of 48 letters that are needed to trigger a party leadership contest.

On Tuesday, the pound fell to its lowest since April 2017 before paring losses amid conflicting reports on whether the threshold had been breached. Only one person knew for sure: Graham Brady, the party official who receives the letters and needs to inform the prime minister when her job is indeed on the line. BBC and ITV report that Brady would be meeting May on Wednesday afternoon.

Here’s our list of letters:

  • Owen Paterson (Dec. 11)
  • Crispin Blunt (Dec. 11)
  • Andrew Lewer
  • Jacob Rees-Mogg
  • Mark Francois
  • John Whittingdale
  • Steve Baker
  • Henry Smith
  • Simon Clarke
  • Anne Marie Morris
  • Lee Rowley
  • Sheryll Murray
  • Martin Vickers
  • Adam Holloway
  • Ben Bradley
  • Maria Caulfield
  • Chris Green
  • Marcus Fysh
  • Zac Goldsmith
  • Bill Cash
  • Nadine Dorries
  • Laurence Robertson
  • Andrew Bridgen
  • Andrea Jenkyns
  • Peter Bone
  • Philip Davies
  • James Duddridge
  • Philip Hollobone
  • NOTE: These letters can be withdrawn once submitted
  • NOTE: The 1922 Committee is formed of rank-and-file conservatives and it has the power to call a no-confidence vote on May’s leadership; it requires a threshold of 48 votes to call a contest
  • NOTE: Bloomberg News doesn’t have a firm count of number of letters submitted
  • NOTE: Theresa May’s Possible Confidence Votes: A Traders’ Guide

©2018 Bloomberg L.P.