Maharashtra Portfolios: Ajit Pawar Is New Finance Minister, Anil Deshmukh Gets Home
Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray. (Photo: PTI)

Maharashtra Portfolios: Ajit Pawar Is New Finance Minister, Anil Deshmukh Gets Home


Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister and senior Nationalist Congress Party leader Ajit Pawar has got the finance and planning department while party colleague Anil Deshmukh is the state's new home minister, a senior official said on Sunday.

Besides, first-time Shiv Sena MLA Aaditya Thackeray, who is the son of Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, has been given charge of the environment, tourism and protocol departments, he said.

With this allocation of portfolios, the Sharad Pawar-led NCP has got most of the "plum" ministries. The list of portfolios to be allocated to ministers was sent to Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari on Saturday evening.

Here’s a look at who got what in the Maharashtra portfolio allocation:

  • Uddhav Thackeray (Shiv Sena): General Administration, Information Technology, Information and Public Relations and other departments not allotted to others.
  • Ajit Pawar (NCP): Finance and Planning
  • Anil Deshmukh (NCP): Home Affairs
  • Aaditya Thackeray (Shiv Sena): Environment, Tourism and Protocol
  • Balasaheb Thorat (Congress): Revenue
  • Ashok Chavan (Congress): Public Works (excluding Public Undertakings)
  • Dhananjay Munde (NCP): Social Justice
  • Jitendra Awhad (NCP): Housing
  • Eknath Shinde (Shiv Sena): Urban Development and Public Works (Public Undertakings)
  • Subhash Desai (Shiv Sena): Industries, Mining and Marathi Language
  • Anil Parab (Shiv Sena): Transport and Parliamentary Affairs
  • Chhagan Bhujbal (NCP): Food and Civil Supplies, Consumer Protection
  • Nawab Malik (NCP): Minority Development adn Aukaf, Skill Development and Entrepreneurship
  • Dilip Walse Patil (NCP): Labour and State Excise
  • Jayant Patil (NCP): Water Resources and Command Area Development
  • Rajendra Shingane (NCP): Food and Drug Administration
  • Rajesh Tope (NCP): Public Health and Family Welfare
  • Hasan Mushrif (NCP): Rural Development
  • Nitin Kashinath Raut (Congress): Energy
  • Balasaheb Patil (NCP): Cooperation and Marketing
  • Dadaji Bhuse (Shiv Sena): Agriculture and Ex-Servicemen Welfare
  • Sandipanrao Bhumre (Shiv Sena): Employement Guarantee and Horticulture
  • Gulabrao Patil (Shiv Sena): Water Supply and Sanitation
  • Sanjay Rathod (Shiv Sena): Forest, Disaster Management, Relief and Rehabilitation
  • Uday Samant (Shiv Sena): Higher and Technical Education
  • Yashomati Thakur (Congress): Women and Child Development
  • Varsha Gaikwad (Congress): School Education
  • Sunil Kedar (Congress): Animal Husbandry, Dairy Development, Youth & Sports Welfare
  • Vijay Wadettiwar (Congress): Other Backward Classes, Socially and Educationally Backward Classes, Vimukta Jati, Nomadic Tribes and Special Backward Classes Welfare, Khar Land Development, Earthquake Rehabilitation
  • Amit Deshmukh (Congress): Medical Education and Cultural Affairs
  • KC Padvi (Congress): Tribal Development
  • Aslam Shaikh (Congress): Textiles, Fisheries and Port Development
  • Shankarrao Gadakh (Independent): Soil and Water Conservation

Ministers of State

  • Dattatray Bharane (NCP): Public Works (excluding Public Undertakings), Soil and Water Conservation, Forests, Animal Husbandry, Dairy Development and Fisheries, General Administration
  • Sanjay Bansode (NCP): Environment, Water Supply and Sanitation, Public Works (Public Undertakings), Employment Guarantee, Earthquake Rehabilitation, Parliamentary Affairs
  • Prajakt Tanpure (NCP): Urban Development, Energy, Tribal Development, Higher and Technical Education, Disaster Management, Relief and Rehabilitation
  • Aditi Tatkare (NCP): Industries, Mining, Tourism, Horticulture, Sports and Youth Welfare, Protocol, Information and Public Relations
  • Shambhuraj Desai (Shiv Sena): Home (Rural), Finance, Planning, State Excise, Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, and Marketing
  • Abdul Nabi Sattar (Shiv Sena): Revenue, Rural Development, Port Land Development and Special Assistance
  • Vishwajeet Kadam (Congress): Co-operation, Agriculture, Social Justice, Food, Civil Supplies and Consumer Protection, Minorities Development and Aukaf, Marathi Language
  • Satej Patil (Congress): Home (Urban), Housing, Transport, Information Technology, Parliamentary Affairs and Ex-Servicemen Welfare
  • Rajendra Yedravkar Patil (Independent): Public Health and Family Welfare, Medical Education, Food and Drug Administration, Textile, and Cultural Affairs
  • Omprakash Babarao Kadu (Independent): Water Resources and Command Area Development, School Education, Women and Child Development, Other Backward Classes, Socially and Educationally Backward Classes, Vimukta Jati, Nomadic Tribes and Special Backward Classes Welfare, and Labour

The Maha Vikas Aghadi government, comprising the Shiv Sena, NCP and the Congress, had been facing criticism from the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party for delay in the allocation of portfolios despite being in power for over a month now.

Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray was sworn-in as chief minister on Nov. 28 along with six ministers, two each from his party, NCP and Congress. The Cabinet was expanded on Dec. 30 with the induction of 36 ministers.

Also read: How To Sign Up For BloombergQuint Story Notifications

BQ Install

Bloomberg Quint

Add BloombergQuint App to Home screen.