Madhya Pradesh Politics: 22 Congress MLAs Resign From Kamal Nath Government
File photo of Rahul Gandhi flanked by Kamal Nath and Jyotiraditya Scindia. (Source: PTI)

Madhya Pradesh Politics: 22 Congress MLAs Resign From Kamal Nath Government


Twenty-two Congress MLAs have so far resigned from Madhya Pradesh government, putting at risk Chief Minister Kamal Nath’s 15-month-long reign at the helm.

The latest to resign was Manoj Choudhary, member of the state legislative assembly from Hatpiplya constituency in Madhya Pradesh.

While 19 MLAs, most of them believed to be loyal to expelled party leader Jyotiraditya Scindia, have sent their resignation letters via email to Raj Bhavan, Bisahulal Singh submitted his resignation letter as an MLA to the assembly speaker.

"We have received resignations of 19 MLAs through emails with attachments," a Raj Bhawan official told Press Trust of India. Sources in the Congress produced a copy of Bisahulal Singh's resignation letter which he submitted to the speaker.

The 22 Congress MLAs who have resigned are:

  • Manoj Choudhary
  • Tulsi Silawat
  • Govind Singh Rajput
  • Dr Prabhuram Choudhry
  • Imarti Devi
  • Pradyumna Singh Tomar
  • Mahendra Singh Sisodia
  • Hardeep Singh Dang
  • Rajyavardhan Singh
  • Brajendra Singh Yadav
  • Jaspal Jajji
  • Suresh Dhakad
  • Jaswant Jatav
  • Santram Sironia
  • Munnalal Goyal
  • Ranveer Singh Jatav
  • OPS Bhadoria
  • Kamlesh Jatav
  • Giriraj Dandotiya
  • Raghuraj Kansana
  • Aidalsingh Kansana
  • Biasahulal Singh

WATCH | Jyotiraditya Scindia Wishes Happy Holi After Exiting Congress

The current effective strength of the Maharashtra Assembly is 228 with two seats vacant. Now, since 22 MLAs have resigned, the strength of the house will be 206 and the magic number required to prove majority will be 104.

The Kamal Nath government is supported by two legislators of the Bahujan Samaj Party, one of the Samajwadi Party and four Independents. The BJP has 107 MLAs.

Assuming that these legislators continue to support the Kamal Nath government in the changing political scenario, the tally of the Congress and its allies will be maximum 100 MLAs, still four short of the halfway mark.

BQ Install

Bloomberg Quint

Add BloombergQuint App to Home screen.