Hemant Soren Takes Oath As 11th Chief Minister Of Jharkhand
Hemant Soren during his swearing-in ceremony at Morahabadi ground in Ranchi. (Source: PTI)

Hemant Soren Takes Oath As 11th Chief Minister Of Jharkhand


Jharkhand Mukti Morcha working president Hemant Soren was on Sunday sworn in as the 11th Chief Minister of Jharkhand at Morhabadi Ground in Ranchi.

Governor Droupadi Murmu administered the oath of office and secrecy to Soren, in the presence of senior political leaders and chief ministers from across states.

This will be the 44-year-old JMM leader's second stint as Jharkhand chief minister.

Along with Soren, Congress Legislature Party Leader Alamgir Alam, state Congress president Rameshwar Oraon and Rashtriya Janata Dal MLA Satyanand Bhokta were also sworn in as state cabinet ministers at Sunday's event.

Also read: New Jharkhand Assembly Has 15 ‘Dynast’ Legislators

In the just-conducted Assembly elections, the JMM- Congress-RJD alliance triumphed over the Bharatiya Janata Party, winning 47 seats in the 81-member House.

Four other MLAs - three from the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) and one from the Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) have also extended their support to the three-party coalition.

Those present at the swearing-in ceremony include Congress leader Rahul Gandhi, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and her Rajasthan counterpart Ashok Gehlot.

Also read: How To Sign Up For BloombergQuint Story Notifications

BQ Install

Bloomberg Quint

Add BloombergQuint App to Home screen.