The bypoll was necessitated in Gorakhpur after Yogi Adityanath vacated the Lok Sabha seat to take over as the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh. 

Gorakhpur Bypoll: In ‘Unexpected Result’, SP Wins Yogi’s Bastion

Samajwadi Party’s Praveen Kumar Nishad won the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat by a margin of 21,961 votes. The BJP polled the second highest number of votes.