Elections 2019: Congress Releases Third List Of Candidates For Lok Sabha
An EVM trainer provides training to election polling and presiding officer ahead of Lok Sabha election 2019 (Source: PTI)

Elections 2019: Congress Releases Third List Of Candidates For Lok Sabha


The Congress has released its third list of 18 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, fielding former Meghalaya chief minister Mukul Sangma from the Tura Parliamentary constituency.

Among the third list of candidate declared by the Congress after a meeting of the party's central election committee are five from Assam, two from Meghalaya, one from Uttar Pradesh, Sikkim and Nagaland each, besides eight from Telangana.

All India Mahila Congress chief Sushmita Dev has been fielded from the Silchar Lok Sabha seat and Gaurav Gogoi from the Kaliabor seat in Assam.

Both are sitting members of Parliament and have been fielded from their respective constituencies.

Former union ministers Vincent H Pala and Paban Singh Ghatowar have also been fielded from Shillong and Dibrugarh, Assam. Pala is also a sitting Parliamentarian and has been fielded from the same seat.

Also read: Congress Declares First List Of Candidates For Lok Sabha Polls, Sonia Gandhi To Contest From Raebareli

Senior leader PL Punia’s son Tanuj Punia has been nominated to contest from Barabanki seat in Uttar Pradesh.

The party has also nominated Swarup Das from Karimganj and Sushanta Borgohain from Jorhat in Assam, KL Chisti from Nagaland and Bharat Basnett from Sikkim.

Also read: Congress’ Second List Of Lok Sabha Candidates Features Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar

Among those fielded from Telangana include Ramesh Rathod, A Chandra Sekhar, Ponnam Prabhakar, K Madan Mohan Rao, Gali Anil Kumar, A Revanth Reddy, Konda Vishweshwar Reddy and Porika Balram Naik from Mahabubabad.

Konda Vishweshwar Reddy is a sitting Lok Sabha member from the same seat, but had contested as a TRS candidate. He had recently joined the Congress and is married to the daughter of the Apollo Hospital’s founder.

Also read: Congress Seals Alliance With JD(S) In Karnataka

BQ Install

Bloomberg Quint

Add BloombergQuint App to Home screen.