Congress Clears 26 More Lok Sabha Candidates
Sanjay Nirupam. (Source: Official Twitter page of Sanjay Nirupam)

Congress Clears 26 More Lok Sabha Candidates


The Congress fielded Sanjay Nirupam from the North West Mumbai as it released its tenth list, clearing 26 names for the Lok Sabha elections.

The announcement of Nirupam's candidature came on a day he was removed as the Mumbai Regional Congress Committee chief. Former Union minister Milind Deora replaced Nirupam as MRCC chief.

Out of the 26 candidates announced by the party, 25 were for West Bengal.

Mohammad Alam from Barrackpore, Mita Chakraborty from Kolkata Dakshin, Suvra Ghosh from Howrah, and Pratul Saha from Hooghly were among those named in the list.

With this, the party has announced a total of 253 candidates so far.

The Congress also named four candidates for Assembly polls in Odisha.

Biren Senapati replaced Muktikant Biswal from the Rourkela Assembly constituency in Odisha, while Shambunath Panigrahi replaced Ram Krishna Panda from the Hinjili Assembly seat.

Also read: Milind Deora Replaces Sanjay Nirupam As Mumbai Congress Chief

BQ Install

Bloomberg Quint

Add BloombergQuint App to Home screen.