Chandrakant Patil Named New Maharashtra BJP Chief
Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, and Chandrakant Patil. (Photo: Twitter/@ChDadaPatil) 

Chandrakant Patil Named New Maharashtra BJP Chief


Ahead of Maharashtra Assembly Elections later this year, the Bharatiya Janata Party on Tuesday appointed State Revenue Minister Chandrakant Patil as president of Maharashtra BJP and MLA Mangal Prabhat Lodha as president of Mumbai BJP.

While Patil has replaced Raosaheb Danve, who resigned as the Maharashtra BJP chief after his induction into union cabinet, Lodha—a builder and the richest MLA—will take place of Ashish Shelar who was recently appointed as a minister in the state government.

As per BJP constitution, a party leader cannot continue to hold the same post for more than two terms. Shelar had served as the president of the Mumbai unit for the last six years.

“I request the party to appoint a full time state president for strengthening the party organisation. I need to focus on my ministerial portfolio and parliamentary responsibilities,” Danve said while announcing his resignation as the state unit president.

Sources said that Patil, believed to be the number two in the state Cabinet, has the task cut out for him to ensure that the BJP retains power with an improved mandate.

Also read: Maharashtra Presents A Revenue-Deficit Budget Ahead Of Polls

The elections for the 288-member House are due in September-October this year. Patil hails from Kolhapur district in western Maharashtra, once a stronghold of the Congress and the NCP.

With Patil’s appointment, the presidents of the state units of the BJP, the Congress and the NCP now hail from the western Maharashtra region.

While newly-appointed state Congress chief Balasaheb Thorat comes from Ahmednagar district, his NCP counterpart Jayant Patil belongs to Sangli district.

Lodha represents Malabar Hill constituency in south Mumbai.

In the 2014 assembly polls, the BJP had emerged as the single largest party after it won 122 seats. The saffron party went on to form a coalition government with the support of the Shiv Sena, which had won 63 seats.

In the recently-held Lok Sabha elections, the BJP retained its 2014 tally of 23 seats in Maharashtra, which sends 48 MPs to Lok Sabha.

Also read: BJP Got 93% Of All Corporate Donations To Political Parties Between 2016-2018

BQ Install

Bloomberg Quint

Add BloombergQuint App to Home screen.