BJP Stages Walkout In Maharashtra Assembly Before Floor Test
Former Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis in Mumbai. (Source: PTI)

BJP Stages Walkout In Maharashtra Assembly Before Floor Test


The Bharatiya Janata Party on Saturday staged a walkout from the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly ahead of the floor test for the Uddhav Thackeray-led government, alleging that the business of the House was conducted in violation of the Constitutional norms.

The opposition party alleged that it would take up the issue with Governor BS Koshyari.

The BJP also objected to replacing party's Kalidas Kolambkar as the pro tem speaker with the Nationalist Congress Party's Dilip Walse Patil, saying that such a thing happened for the first time in the history of India as the Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress alliance scared of losing floor test under a regular Speaker.

Also read: Maharashtra Assembly Floor Test: Uddhav Thackeray-Led Maha Vikas Aghadi Gets Majority In Assembly

A special session of the Legislative Assembly was held in Mumbai on Saturday. However, the BJP MLAs walked out of House after Walse Patil ordered head count on motion of confidence.

"Business is being transacted in the House in violation of the Constitution. The session itself is not in line with the rules. Since the national anthem had been played after the last session, it had ended sine die," BJP's legislature unit leader Devendra Fadnavis told reporters.

"Summons was required to be issued through Governor to convene a new session. But that was not to be the case," he alleged.

Fadnavis also charged that the oath-taking ceremony of Thackeray and his six ministers, too, was not in line with the rules.

"Someone took Balasaheb Thackeray's name, someone took names of (Congress chief) Sonia (Gandhi) ji and (NCP president Sharad) Pawar Saheb's name. The oath has to be taken as mentioned in the pro forma," he added.

On the floor test being conducted on the pro tem Speaker's watch, Fadnavis said it was done so as the government is scared of losing the trust vote under a regular speaker.

"They were afraid that their government will collapse if regular Speaker is there. That is why we staged a walkout. We are going to write to the Governor saying the business was not transacted in line with the Constitution," he added.

In the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly, the BJP is the single-largest party with 105 MLAs, followed by the Shiv Sena (56 MLAs), the NCP (54 MLAs) and the Congress (44 MLAs).

Also read: From Professional Lensman To Chief Minister, Uddhav Comes A Long Way

BQ Install

Bloomberg Quint

Add BloombergQuint App to Home screen.