BJP MPs Replace Congress Leaders As Heads Of Two Parliamentary Panels
Logos for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), left, and the Indian National Congress (INC) party are displayed on a computer at the Boom Live office in Mumbai, India. (Photographer: Dhiraj Singh/Bloomberg)

BJP MPs Replace Congress Leaders As Heads Of Two Parliamentary Panels


Two crucial parliamentary panels, the standing committees on finance and external affairs, which were headed by Congress members of parliament in previous Lok Sabha are now chaired by Bharatiya Janata Party MPs.

The Lok Sabha Secretariat updated the details of parliament's standing committees for the newly constituted 17th Lok Sabha.

BJP MPs Jayant Sinha and PP Choudhary will head the panels on finance and external affairs respectively. In the previous Lok Sabha, Congress' Veerappa Moily and Shashi Tharoor used to head the two committees. Moily lost the 2019 Lok Sabha election.

Tharoor, who retained his Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha seat in the last general elections, has now been made the head of the Standing Committee on Information Technology.

Former Congress President Rahul Gandhi, who was a member of the panel on external affairs, has now been moved to the parliamentary panel on defence, which is headed by Jual Oram.

Trinamool Congress’ Derek O'Brien, who was chairing the committee on transport, tourism and culture, has been replaced by erstwhile Telugu Desam Party leader TG Venkatesh, who recently joined the BJP.

O'Brien is now a member of the panel on Human Resource Development, which BJP's Satyanarayan Jatiya continues to head.

With these changes, the Congress which was earlier heading two committees of the Lok Sabha will now be heading only one. Standing committees are allocated by Lok Sabha Speaker and Rajya Sabha Chairman on the recommendation of the government.

Also read: Parliament Redevelopment Project May Begin Next Year, Says Hardeep Singh Puri

BQ Install

Bloomberg Quint

Add BloombergQuint App to Home screen.