Senior leaders of Congress party’s Chhattisgarh unit, from left, TS Singh Deo, Bhupesh Baghel and Charan Das Mahant at the residence of party leader PL Punia, in New Delhi.

Bhupesh Baghel Sworn In As Chief Minister Of Chhattisgarh

Congress leader Bhupesh Baghel was sworn in as the chief minister of Chhattisgarh on Monday.

Members of the legislative assembly - T S Singh Deo and Tamradhwaj Sahu - who were front-runners for the chief minister's post, were sworn in as ministers.

Governor Anandiben Patel administered the oath of office and secrecy to Baghel, 57, and the two during the swearing-in ceremony at the Balbeer Juneja Indoor Stadium.

Congress President Rahul Gandhi and former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh were among the leaders from across the political spectrum who attended the event.

The Congress on Sunday named Baghel, a five-time MLA from Patan, to head the state Congress Legislature Party. Baghel, who took charge as Congress state president Congress after 2013 assembly polls, was credited for the massive victory of the party in the recent Assembly polls where Congress won 68 seats in the 90-member House.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Baghel after he took over as the chief ministers of Chhattisgarh. He tweeted:

Baghel, who hails from Kurmi OBC community, has become the third person to be the chief minister of the state. Prior to him, Raman Singh had served as CM in the BJP government for three consecutive terms starting from 2003.

Also read: Ashok Gehlot, Sachin Pilot Sworn-In As Rajasthan’s CM & Deputy CM