President’s Rule In Jammu & Kashmir Extended For Six More Months
A man stands on a boat on Dal Lake in Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir, India. (Photographer: Anindito Mukherjee/Bloomberg)

President’s Rule In Jammu & Kashmir Extended For Six More Months


The Union Cabinet Wednesday approved extension of President’s rule in Jammu and Kashmir for six more months beginning July 3, Union minister Prakash Javedkar said.

A meeting of the Union Cabinet, chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, decided that central rule, which has been continuing in Jammu and Kashmir since June 20, 2018, will remain for six more months.

“Yes, it has been decided,” Javadekar told reporters when asked whether the Cabinet gave its nod to the extension. An official statement said based on the prevailing situation the cabinet has approved the extension under article 356(4) of the Constitution of India.

This is likely to be the last extension of the central rule in the state as the Election Commission had issued a statement recently stating that elections in Jammu and Kashmir would be announced after the annual Amarnath Yatra beginning on July 1.

The Governor of Kashmir had recommended that President’s Rule be extended.

A resolution seeking approval of the Parliament for the extension of the central rule in Jammu and Kashmir will be moved in both houses of parliament during the forthcoming budget session.

Also read: Cabinet Clears Triple Talaq Bill, To Be Introduced In Budget Session Of Parliament

Governor’s rule was imposed initially in Jammu and Kashmir on June 20, 2018 and the State Assembly was kept in suspended animation. That was after the state plunged into a political crisis when the Mehbooba Mufti-led coalition government was reduced to minority following withdrawal of support by the 25-member BJP in the state.

Under Section 92 of the Constitution of Jammu and Kashmir, there is no provision for further continuation of Governor’s rule after six months. Hence, on the recommendation of Governor and having regard to the prevailing situation in the state, the President’s rule was imposed on Dec. 20, 2018.

Subsequently, a resolution approving the President’s rule was passed in the Lok Sabha on Dec. 28, 2018 and in the Rajya Sabha on Jan. 3, 2019. Governor Satypal Malik on Nov. 21, 2018 had dissolved the 87-member state assembly after the PDP, supported by the Congress and their arch rivals National Conference, staked claim to form the government.

Simultaneously, the two-member People’s Conference led by Sajjad Lone had also staked claim to form a government with 25 members of the BJP and other 18 unknown members. The governor dissolved the assembly citing horse-trading and lack of stability to form a government as the reasons.

No presidential proclamation shall in any case remain in force for more than three years except for the intervention of Election Commission of India, which has to certify that the continuance in force of the Proclamation is necessary on account of difficulties in holding general elections to the Legislative Assembly.

Also read: Aadhaar Amendment Bill Gets Cabinet Nod, To Be Introduced In Budget Session Of Parliament

BQ Install

Bloomberg Quint

Add BloombergQuint App to Home screen.