The 15-day-old H D Kumaraswamy ministry in Karnataka was expanded on 5 June with the induction of 25 ministers.

Karnataka CM Kumaraswamy Retains 11 Portfolios, Including Finance

Two days after the first set of ministers were sworn in the Karnataka Cabinet, CM HD Kumaraswamy retained 11 portfolios with himself, including Finance. Deputy CM G Parameshwara has been assigned the Home department, without the Intelligence wing.

The 15-day-old HD Kumaraswamy government in Karnataka was expanded on 5 June, with the induction of 25 ministers.

Fourteen Congress ministers took oath, along with nine others from the JD(S) and one each from the BSP and the KPJP.

  • Under the power sharing arrangement, Congress will have 22 ministers and the JDS 12
  • The Congress list has both Vokkaliga and Lingayat representatives

CM Retains 11 Portfolios, Dy CM Gets Home

Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy has retained 11 portfolios with himself, including the finance ministry.

Kumaraswamy's 11 portfolios are:

  • Department of Cabinet Affairs
  • Department of Personnel and Administrative Reforms
  • Department of Finance including Excise, Institutional Finance and Small Savings & Lotteries
  • Intelligence Wing from Home Department.
  • Information & Public Relations from Kannada and Culture, Information and Public Relation Department.
  • Planning and Statistics Department
  • Energy Department
  • Department of Public Enterprises
  • Infrastructure Development Department
  • Textiles from Commerce and Industries Department.
  • Any other department/board and corporations not specifically Allocated.

Deputy Chief Minister G Parameswhara has been assigned the Home department, excluding the Intelligence wing, which as been retained by Kumaraswamy.

(Photo: ANI)
(Photo: ANI)
(Photo: ANI)

Kumaraswamy Steps-in to Pacify Disgruntled Congress MLAs

Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy on Friday, 8 June, stepped-in to pacify a section of Congress MLAs who are unhappy with the cabinet expansion. Kumaraswamy asked the Congress' central leadership to act immediately to find a solution.

The chief minister met MB Patil, a prominent state Congress leader under whose leadership a section of dissatisfied legislators have been holding meetings.

Speaking to reporters after meeting Patil, the chief minister said though the issue is not directly related to him, he had gone to pacify the lawmakers as the leader of the Congress-JD(S) coalition and for the stability of the coalition government.

Yes, there is some tension there, but I am confident that the Congress leaders will take the right decision.
HD Kumaraswamy, as quoted by ANI

Congress Ministers Hold Meeting

Congress's NA Harris, Dr Sudhakar, Rahim Khan, Bhyrati Basavaraju, S Shivalli, Satish Jarakiholi, Eshwar Khandre, MTB Nagaraj held a meeting after portfolios were not allotted to them.

It's Natural for Coalition to Face Hiccups in Ministry Formation: Kumaraswamy

Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy said it was natural for any coalition government to face teething problems in the initial stages of ministry formation and assured people that he would give a stable government for the full five-year term.

"It is natural for any coalition government to face teething problems at initial stages of ministry formation.

There was a short delay in expanding the cabinet, but both Congress and JDS parties are united and will provide stable government, which would last its full five year term," he said.

Lots of Portfolios Being Created: DK Shivakumar

On reports that some MLAs are disappointed with the portfolio allocation in Karnataka, Congress leaders DK Shivakumar said, “Lots of portfolios and vacancies being created, all the seniors will be honoured at an appropriate time, Party knows the situation and will value their sentiment.”

Portfolio Allocation in 1-2 Days: Karnataka Deputy CM

Addressing reporters Karnataka Deputy CM G Parameshwara said, “Within a day or two portfolios will be allotted, discussions have already begun. Our govt is a coalition one and we will fulfill all our promises. We will run this government for five years.”

Kumaraswamy Ministry Expanded, 25 Ministers Inducted

The 15-day-old H D Kumaraswamy ministry in Karnataka was expanded today with the induction of 25 ministers – 14 ministers from the Congress, nine from its ruling coalition partner JD(S) and one each from the BSP and the KPJP.

H D Revanna, son of former Prime Minister and JD(S) supremo H D Deve Gowda and state senior Congress leaders D K Shivakumar were among those who took oath.

JDS' G T Deve Gowda, who defeated former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah in the Chamundeshwari constituency in Mysuru in the Assembly polls was also inducted.

Congress MLC Jayamala was the lone woman minister inducted into the cabinet.

With today's swearing-in, the strength of the ministry stands at 27, with seven more vacancies yet to be filled.

Congress' DK Shivakumar to Get Important Portfolio

(Photo: ANI)
Congress’ DK Shivakumar takes oath as a Karnataka cabinet minister.
(Photo: ANI)

Congress’ DK Shivakumar, KJ George and Priyank Kharge are among those from Congress taking oath as Cabinet ministers in the Karnataka Assembly on Wednesday, 6 June. Shivakumar, who is at the top of the Congress list, is likely to get an important portfolio.

The lone BSP legislator in Karnataka, N Mahesh, will also be a part of the cabinet expansion and will be given a key portfolio, reported PTI.

Congress Gets Home, JD(S) to Look After Finance and Excise Ministry

On 1 June, the Congress-JD(S) alliance announced the allotment of portfolios.

According to PTI, as per the arrangement between the coalition partners, the Congress will be in charge of 22 ministries, including Home, Irrigation, Bangalore City Development, Industry and Sugar Industry, Health, Revenue, Urban Development, Rural Development, Agriculture, Law and Parliamentary Affairs and IT/BT, among others.

The JD(S) has reportedly been allocated Finance, Excise, Information, Intelligence, Public Works Department, Power, Cooperation, Tourism, Education and Transport, reported PTI.

Swearing-in Ceremony at 2 pm Today

The swearing-in ceremony of the new ministers to the Karnataka Cabinet will be held at 2 pm at the Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru.