File photo of Om Prakash Rawat, announcing poll schedule for five states during a press conference. (Photographer: Vijay Kumar Joshi/PTI)

Om Prakash Rawat Appointed New Chief Election Commissioner

Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat was today appointed as the next chief election commissioner succeeding A K Jyoti who retires tomorrow, the law ministry said today.

The government also appointed former finance secretary Ashok Lavasa as an election commissioner. The appointment of the election commissioner was made as a vacancy would have arisen in the three-member poll panel after the retirement of Jyoti tomorrow.

Sunil Arora is the other election commissioner.