Israel to Transfer Vaccines to at Least 19 Countries, Kan Says

Israel will transfer coronavirus vaccines to at least 19 countries, according to a Kan News report.

Nations that will receive shipments of 1,000 to 5,000 doses of Moderna Inc. vaccine include Cyprus, Mauritania, Hungary, Honduras, Guatemala, the Czech Republic, the Republic of Maldives, San Marino, Ethiopia, Chad, Kenya and Uganda, Kan said.

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu’s office on Tuesday confirmed an earlier report that Israel would send limited amounts of surplus vaccine to the Palestinian Authority and a number of countries.

Defense Minister Benny Gantz criticized the premier, saying that the issue should have been open for public discussion, or at the very least, brought to the appropriate forums.

“The fact that Netanyahu is trading in the vaccines that belong to the citizens of Israel that paid for them through their taxes, without any accountability, shows that he thinks he is running a kingdom, rather than a state,” Gantz said on Twitter.

©2021 Bloomberg L.P.

BQ Install

Bloomberg Quint

Add BloombergQuint App to Home screen.