China to Donate Coronavirus Vaccines to Three African Countries

China will donate coronavirus vaccines to three African countries and plans to “assist” another 38 developing countries with shots in the future, according to its embassy in Kenya.

Zimbabwe, Equatorial Guinea and Sierra Leone are among 13 nations worldwide that will receive the donations, an embassy spokesman said by email late Wednesday, without providing details. China is also part of Covax, a program that tries to ensure equitable access to shots around the world.

“China will continue to provide in a timely manner, to the best of its capability, vaccines to relevant countries, especially the developing countries, and contribute its share to building a global community of health for all,” the spokesman said, citing a statement from the ministry of foreign affairs.

©2021 Bloomberg L.P.

BQ Install

Bloomberg Quint

Add BloombergQuint App to Home screen.