Australia’s Queensland to Open Borders Except to Victoria State


Australia’s Queensland state will reopen its borders from July 10 but restrict entrance to people from Victoria due to a surge in coronavirus cases there.

Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk said that people would be allowed to visit, but must sign a declaration at the border stating they have not visited Victoria for 14 days.

Anyone who has been to Victoria within that period will be prevented from entering unless they complete 14 days of hotel quarantine at their own expense.

Victoria recorded 64 additional cases of Covid-19 overnight, at least the 14th straight day of double-digit increases.

While Australia has been one of the stand-out performers globally in limiting the spread of the virus, the flare-up in Victoria has highlighted the risks associated with easing social distancing restrictions.

©2020 Bloomberg L.P.

BQ Install

Bloomberg Quint

Add BloombergQuint App to Home screen.