Supreme Court of India (Image: Supreme Court of India website)

Five-Judge Bench To Hear Plea Against Rejection Of Motion To Impeach Chief Justice Of India

A five-judge Constitution bench will on Tuesday hear a plea filed by Congress party leaders challenging the rejection of an impeachment motion filed against Chief Justice of India Dipak Misra.

The will comprise Justice AK Sikri, Justice SA Bobde, Justice NV Ramana, Justice Arun Mishra and Justice Adarsh K Goel, according to information on the Supreme Court website.

While Justice Sikri, who will head the bench, is sixth in the list of senior most Supreme Court judges, others on the bench follow him in the sequence of seniority. The matter has not been listed before the judges who rank between two to five in seniority. These judges – Justices J Chelameswar, Ranjan Gogoi, MB Lokur and Kurian Jospeh – had held a controversial Jan. 12 press conference in which they had highlighted several grievances against Chief Justice Misra.

Also read: A Supreme Court Changed Forever: Editorial

Two Members of Parliament from the Congress party moved the Supreme Court earlier in the day after a motion to impeach the Chief Justice of India Dipak Misra was last month dismissed by Vice-President and Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu. Naidu said later that his decision to reject the motion was “timely and not a hasty one” coming after over a month of due diligence.

Senior Advocate Kapil Sibal, who is also one of the signatories of the impeachment motion, mentioned the matter for urgent listing before a bench headed by Justice J Chelameswar.

Also read: Why Vice-President Naidu Rejected Impeachment Notice Against Chief Justice Of India

(With PTI inputs)