The Vidhan Soudha in Bengaluru. (Photo Courtesy: Facebook)

Karnataka Floor Test Live: Kumaraswamy Wins Trust Vote

Kumaraswamy Government Wins Trust Vote

Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy’s government won a motion of confidence on the floor of the state assembly, as the Bharatiya Janata Party walked out from the house, after opposition leader BS Yeddyurappa’s speech. The motion was carried unopposed with the BJP absent in the house. The confidence vote brings to an end a 10-day long political drama, after the assembly election results on May 15 yielded a hung assembly.

BJP Walks Out Of Karnataka Assembly

The Bharatiya Janata Party’s MLAs staged a walk-out from the Karnataka Assembly, after Leader of The Opposition BS Yeddyurappa’s speech.

Leader Of Opposition Yeddyurappa Replies To CM

The BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa replies to the Chief Minister’s motion of confidence, questioning the alliance between the Janata Dal (Secular) and the Congress.

Confidence Vote Debate Begins

Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy has begun the debate on the motion of confidence on the floor of the Karnataka assembly, after speeches were made on both sides of the aisle congratulating the newly-elected Speaker.

Congress Nominee Elected Speaker

Ramesh Kumar, a six-time MLA of the Congress was elected speaker unanimously, after the BJP withdrew its nominee Suresh Kumar.

Kumarswamy's Second Stint As Chief Minister

Kumaraswamy took oath as the Chief Minister of Karnataka on Wednesday in a ceremony attended by a clutch of national and regional leaders from parties opposing the Bharatiya Janata Party. The JD(S) and the Congress came together on the day of the election results, to keep the BJP out of power.

Also Read: Test Of Opposition Unity Lies In Karnataka Coalition’s Survival, Say Political Analysts

The outcome of the coalition between JD(S) and Congress is now being seen as an indicator of whether India’s opposition is capable of putting up a strong united front against Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s BJP in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

The new Karnataka government will have 22 ministers from the Congress and 12 from the JD(S). With 78 MLAs, the Congress is numerically stronger than the JD(S), which won 37 seats in the assembly elections.

Also Read: It’s Complicated: A History Of Congress-JD(S) Breakups, Patch-Ups

BJP’s 3-Day Government

The day after the election results, BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa claimed the right to form a government as the leader of the single largest party, as did the JD(S) Congress combine. Both sides approached Governor Vajubhai Vala, who invited Yeddyurappa to form the government first. The Congress moved the Supreme Court, which conducted an all-night hearing. Yeddyurappa was sworn in as the chief minister the following morning, only to resign ahead of a floor test in three days, after the Supreme Court advanced the confidence vote to Saturday.

Also Read: Karnataka Drama: Abhishek Manu Singhvi’s Behind-The-Scenes Account

Stay Updated With Karnataka 2018 News On BloombergQuint