Employees assist customers at a store in Nehru Place IT Market. (Photographer: Graham Crouch/Bloomberg)

Panel Headed By Sushil Modi To Look Into GSTN-Related Issues

Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi will head a five-member grouping of state ministers to look into technical challenges being faced by the GST registration and tax filing portal.

The GST Council, the highest decision-making body of the new Goods and Services Tax regime, had on Saturday decided to form a five-member panel to look into the technical glitches facing the GST Network.

The GSTN, the information technology backbone and portal for real-time taxpayer registration, migration, and tax return filing under the GST, had faced downtime when the first deadline for filing of returns approached, forcing the government to extend the last date.

The Group of Ministers headed by Modi will “monitor and resolve the IT challenges faced in the implementation of GST,” an official statement said. Kerala Finance Minister Thomas Isaac is also a member of the group.

The other members include:

  • Amar Agarwal, Minister for Commercial Taxes, Chhattisgarh
  • Krishna Byregowda, Minister for Agriculture, Karnataka
  • Etela Rajendar, Finance Minister, Telangana

“The GoM will be assisted in its work by the Chairman, Goods and Services Tax Network (GSTN) and the Chief Executive Officer, GSTN,” it said.

Also, a Committee on Exports has been constituted under Revenue Secretary Hasmukh Adhia to look at the issues of export sector and to recommend to the GST Council suitable strategy for helping the export sector in the post-GST scenario.

The other members on the committee are:

  • Chairperson, CBEC
  • Member (Customs), CBEC
  • Director General, DGFT
  • Additional Secretary, GST Council
  • Director General, DG Export Promotion from the Central Government
  • Commissioners of Commercial Taxes from the States of Gujarat, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal