Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora, along with Election Commissioners Ashok Lavasa (left) and Sushil Chandra (right). (Photographer: Subhav Shukla/PTI) 

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Schedule: 7-Phase Polls To Begin On April 11, Counting On May 23

Latest First
  • Oldest First

Watch Election Commission's Press Conference

Lok Sabha elections will begin on April 11 and polling would be held over seven phases through May 19, followed by counting of all votes on May 23, the Election Commission announced on Sunday.

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Schedule: 7-Phase Polls To Begin On April 11, Counting On May 23

The voter verifiable paper audit trail will be used in all polling stations this time.

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said the model code of conduct would come into immediate effect from Sunday and 10 lakh polling stations would be set up this time as against about nine lakh in 2014. Nearly 90 crore voters would be eligible to vote for 543 Lok Sabha constituencies across the country.

(Source: PTI)

Political Leaders React On Twitter

Modi Seeks Another Term For The NDA

Will Defeat The 'Liars' In This Government: Congress

130 Crore Indians Deserve A Better Government: Mayawati

Delay Shows How Badly BJP Has Handled J&K: Omar Abdullah

Simultaneous Assembly Elections In 4 States

The Election Commission will hold assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim concurrently with parliamentary elections.

34 by-polls will follow the same schedule as parliamentary elections.

Only Lok Sabha Polls In Jammu & Kashmir

The Election Commission considered prevailing security situation in Jammu & Kashmir and decided to conduct only parliamentary polls in the state as yet, said Arora.

Polling in the Anantnag Lok Sabha seat will be held in three phases due to security reasons, the Chief Election Commissioner added.

Phase 7: May 19

(59 constituencies in 8 states)

  • Bihar: 8 seats
  • Jharkhand: 3 seats
  • MP: 8 seats
  • Punjab: 13 seats
  • WB: 9 seats
  • UP: 13 seats
  • HP: 4 seats
  • Chandigarh: 1 seat

Phase 6: May 12

(59 constituencies in 7 states)

  • Bihar: 8 seats
  • Haryana: 10 seats
  • Jharkhand: 4 seats
  • MP: 8 seats
  • UP: 14 seats
  • WB: 8 seats
  • NCR: 7 seats