Congress Releases Delhi List, Names Sheila Dikshit, Ajay Maken
The Congress’ list of six candidates names Sheila Dikshit and Ajay Maken.

Congress Releases Delhi List, Names Sheila Dikshit, Ajay Maken

Former Delhi CM Sheila Dikshit and Congress member Ajay Maken have been named in a list of six candidates for Delhi released by the Congress on Monday, 22 April.

The former Delhi CM will be contesting the polls from North East Delhi, while Maken will be standing from the New Delhi seat.

Dikshit will be fighting against BJP’s Manoj Tiwari in the North East Delhi seat.

The party is yet to name somebody from the New Delhi seat.

Dikshit told ANI that she was familiar with the people of her constituency, having contested from the same seat earlier as well, adding that they knew her as well.

“I’ll do my best to fulfill the responsibility given to me. I’ve contested from here earlier, I know the people here and they know me. We had started Metro from here, our reputation is of working for the people.”
Sheila Dikshit

“In a way, it feels good. I didn’t expect this to happen. But the party has tasked me with the responsibility, I will do my best to fulfil it,” she added.

Maken took to Twitter after his nomination was announced, asking people to join him as he files his papers on Tuesday.

The Congress' Delhi list, which names candidates for six out of seven Parliamentary constituencies, also features JP Agarwal from Chandni Chowk, Arvinder Singh Lovely from East Delhi, Rajesh Lilothia from North West Delhi-SC and Mahabal Mishra from West Delhi.

Mishra will be facing BJP’s Pravesh Verma in West Delhi, while Agarwal will be fighting Dr Harshwardhan in the Chandni Chowk seat.

BQ Install

Bloomberg Quint

Add BloombergQuint App to Home screen.