Customers wait in line to withdraw cash from a State Bank of India branch in Mumbai. (Photographer: Dhiraj Singh/Bloomberg)

Banks Board Bureau Shortlists 22 Candidates As Executive Directors Of State-Owned Banks

The Banks Board Bureau has recommended 22 general managers to fill the position of executive directors in public sector banks.

“These recommendations are based on interactions held by the Banks Board Bureau with eligible candidates from PSBs towards appointment against vacancies in PSBs for the period 2018-19,” according to a statement on the bureau’s website. The recommendations are subject to various clearances, it added.

The final decision to appoint these officers will rest with the central government.

Two positions of executive directors at Punjab National Bank fell vacant recently as Sanjiv Sharan and KV Brahmaji Rao were named in the charge sheet filed by Central Bureau of Investigation in the Nirav Modi scam. About 19 executive directors’ post in PSBs will become vacant this year, according to a report in The Hindu.

At a press conference on June 8, interim Finance Minister Piyush Goyal said the government is looking to fill all 30 vacant positions at state-owned in 30 days.

The names of the shortlisted officers for vacancies in these banks for the period 2018-19 are:

  • Sanjay Aggarwal
  • Agyey Kumar Azad
  • Manas Ranjan Biswal
  • Ajit Kumar Das
  • Vijay Dube
  • Dinesh Kumar Poonam Chand Garg
  • Gopal Gusain
  • Shanti Lal Jain
  • Vivek Jha
  • Vikramaditya Singh Khichi
  • Ajay K Khurana
  • Atul Kumar
  • Sanjay Kumar
  • A Manimekhalai
  • PR Rajagopal
  • K Ramchandran
  • K Srinivasa Rao
  • Usha Ravi
  • Alok Srivastava
  • Hemant Kumar Tamta
  • Shenoy Vishwanath Vittal
  • Ajay Vyas

BBB is headed by Bhanu Pratap Sharma, and the members of the panel include Vedika Bhandarkar, P Pradeep Kumar, Pradip Shah, Financial Services Secretary Rajiv Kumar, and Public Enterprises Secretary Seema Bahuguna.