Employees pass though a security check at the National Stock Exchange (NSE) in Mumbai, India (Photographer: Dhiraj Singh/Bloomberg)  

NSE Forms Four-Member Panel To Select New Chief After Ramkrishna’s Exit

The National Stock Exchange has appointed a four-member committee to start the process for appointment of a new chief executive officer and managing director, following the resignation of Chitra Ramkrishna.

The panel will include:

  • Dinesh Kanabar, public interest director, NSE
  • TV Mohandas Pai, public interest director, NSE
  • Anand Mahindra, Chairman, Mahindra Group, as independent external expert
  • Usha Thorat, ex-Deputy Governor, RBI, as independent external expert

The Selection Committee, after following the due process will recommend names to the Nomination and Remuneration Committee and the board of NSE, India’s largest stock exchange said in a media statement.

Ramkrishna resigned as chief executive officer of NSE on Friday, months before the exchange was about to go public.

She “tendered her resignation due to personal reasons and expressed her desire to step down with immediate effect”, NSE said in an earlier statement.

Group President J Ravichandran has been appointed as the interim CEO and MD.

Read: Two Governance Controversies That May Have Prompted Chitra Ramkrishna’s Resignation